Top 5 Summer Reads

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Wednesdays

Song for the day: Rose-Colored Boy by Paramore

Because it’s one of my faves from the new album along with Fake Happy, Forgiveness, and Idle Worship.

The Top 5 Wednesdays meme was founded by Lainey and is hosted by Sam. You can find all the topics etc here.

This week’s T5W was hard for me. I feel a lot more drawn to autumn-y stories, dark and misty with that quiet hum of the forest, so it was a bit of a scrabble to get some summery books!

So, here we go.

1// Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Summer Reads

This is just so English isn’t it? The farming and harvests and fields of wheat. It just makes me think of summers when I was younger, and in Cornwall with my family.
2// Paper Towns by John Green

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Summer Reads
I just love the idea of summer nights, staying out late in the city and road tripping to unknown places. I could live in that feeling.
3// The Maze Runner by James Dashner 

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Summer Reads

I’m not sure if this is because of the desert scenes or the idea of a maze at a country house in summer, but this seems fairly summery to me. ALSO the series could last you the summer if you stretch it.
4// The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Summer Reads

Also known as “how many times can Katie use this series in a Top 5?”. I know this book fits the misty forest thing but it’s the adventure and solstice and basically you should read this series all year round!
5// On the Road by Jack Kerouac

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Summer Reads

This book always makes me want to pack my life in and go on a massive roadtrip. Rolling through the US with my friends with the sun blasting down and a drink or 3. Perfection.
…so I need to read some more summery books. What do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

