Top 5 Minor Characters 

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Minor Characters

Song for the day – Heartbreak Dream by Betty Who

Because it’s a fun pop song that’s perfect for this summer weather.
So it’s Wednesday again, and that means I get to regale you all with my Top 5 somethings. This week is minor characters, and this one was tricky for me. I hate not giving people importance, and so to not  name some of these characters as “side characters” makes my skin itch a little. Nevertheless, I persisted.

The Top 5 Wednesdays meme was created by Lainey and is now hosted by Sam. You can find the Goodreads group with all the topics here

Here are some of my favourite minor characters:

1// Kakuro Ozu from Muriel Barbery’s L’Élégance du hérisson/The Elegance of the Hedgehog 

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Minor Characters

I couldn’t find my French paperback but the English cover is prettier so. The book tells the tale of a reclusive concierge of a Parisian apartment building and her observations. Monsieur Ozu is a tenant who brings her out of her shell. I really like his description and character!
2// Le Renard/ the Fox from Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s Le Petit Prince/The Little Prince

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Minor Characters

Ignore how battered my copies are – I’ve read them a lot. But you ain’t seen nothing yet. Anyway, Le Petit Prince tells the tale of – well, a little prince who finds out about life from a series of encounters. One such encounter is the fox. The fox teaches the prince about the bonds between people, and his scene contains one of my favourite quotes of all time, one that I want to get tattooed one day: ‘on ne voit bien qu’avec la cœur; l’essentiel est invisible pour les yeux’ (one only truly sees with the heart; that which is essential is invisible to the eyes).

3// The Lady of the Autumn Court from Sarah J. Maas’ ACOTAR series

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Minor Characters
The ACOTAR series tells the tale of Feyre and her sudden plunge into the faerie world. Said world is divided into Courts, each ruled by High Fae. We learn bits and pieces about the Autumn Court, but more so about the sons. Lucien’s mother is an enigma, and the secrets revealed in ACOWAR make me want to know so much more about her!

4// Dean Thomas from JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Minor Characters

See, I consider Dean to be a side character, but the topic suggested that he was minor? I disagree, especially knowing that he was equal to the golden trio in early drafts. I was always intrigued by his story, always wondering what he must think of the wizarding world as he lay there with his West Ham poster next to his bed. He comes into his own so much in TDH, on the run with the goblins, helping to bury Dobby, on the front lines of the Battle of Hogwarts. Deana Thomas deserves better and to live happily ever after with Seamus Finnegan.

5// Javelin from David Eddings’ The Belgariad/Malloreon series


(I really abuse my books don’t I? Is overreading bad??) Another series where I can’t reconcile characters with the word ‘minor’ since they all play very important roles. I LOVE THEM ALL. I narrowed my choice down to Javelin the spymaster. He is placed behind the quests that define these books, but as Queen Porenn’s right hand man, he controls so much of the game. He knows everything and is shrewd beyond belief. He’s a character shrouded in intrigue and he’s awesome.
Which minor characters make your list?

Leave a Reply

