Top 5 Fandoms I Am No Longer In

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I Am No Longer In

Song of the day: Strangers by Halsey ft Lauren Jauregui

Because how utterly gorgeous is this song? I’m so in love with it!

I wasn’t entirely sure how to approach this week’s T5W subject – are the fandoms ones I grew out of, or ones I turned my back on for other reasons? Therefore, I’ve included both.

The Top 5 Wednesdays meme was created by Lainey and is now hosted by Sam. You can find the Goodreads group with all the topics here

Here are 5 fandoms that I am no longer a part of…
1// The Witch Trade series by Michael Molloy

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I Am No Longer In

I used to absolutely adore this series when I was younger. I remember making my dad drive to the nearest town when we were on holiday in Cornwall on the release date for the third book, which I devoured immediately. I read and even wrote a little fanfic around it. I’ve not read them for years though; I think I just grew out of them. I might have to have a re-read as an easy day…
2// Jacqueline Wilson

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I Am No Longer In

Who didn’t absolutely adore Jackie when they were little? From Double Act to the televised Tracy Beaker, she dominated our childhoods and early reading. My favourite one was the (rather dark) Lola Rose, which I took with me to get signed when I met her on her Love Lessons tour. Saying that I grew out of them, I have to admit that when I did my work exp with Puffin last year, they were working on her latest, and I got little shivers when the team were discussing titles. And then the editor at the desk next to me was ON THE PHONE TO HER and I had to stop myself being an IRL heart eyes emoji… 
3// The Jess Jordan series by Sue Limb.

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I Am No Longer In

This is spit-out-your-drink-funny writing! These books were very similar to the Angus Thongs series and I LOVED them. This was actually another mid-Cornwall holiday bookshop dash because not only did I love them, but so did my mum, and so we had to get the next one quick. I might have to get back into them as an easy read because I used to love them so much…
4// John Green/Nerdfighter 

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I'm No Longer In

T’was the height of 2011 and I had turned to John and Hank on YouTube to get me through a horrendous period of depression.  You couldn’t get through Tumblr without coming across the hurricane quote from Looking for Alaska (you know the one), and I just adored the poetry implicit in that book. I even trekked across the country in 2012 to a random church in Manchester to hear the brothers speak and read sections of TFIOS (which had just come out)! As much as that was an important part of my life, I’ve left that fan base behind, and now merely enjoy my favourite three books (I gave the others to charity) from a distance…
5// Twilight

I donated the books to charity a few years back, so enjoy this picture of 16 year old me rather than a flatlay… 

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I'm No Longer In

Yeah, I went through that phase. I then realised that Edward Cullen is an abusive fuckwit and left that fandom again. Oddly enough I still read the fanfiction, especially those centred around the cowboy coven – those are characters that deserve so much more! 
What fandoms have you left?

The Life and Tomes | Top 5 Fandoms I'm No Longer In

Leave a Reply

